top of page

President's Award

The TCRC President's award was approved in 2002 to recognize those who have had a major impact on our running community, with achievements of the highest level, in a wide spectrum of roles. Achievements include not only competitive running, but also race direction and administration, coaching, and media coverage.


The President's award is presented at the TCRC's Annual Dinner, with the first award being made in 2003. Recipients of the award are listed below with a very brief synopsis of each recipient's contribution.

*Dates listed are for the year the member was recognized for, the award was received at the annual dinner usually held in the following year*


  • 2002 - Chip Boehm,

    • 5-time Vestal XX winner, 2:19 marathoner 

  • 2003 - Mike Miller and Bob Osborne,

    • 40 years coaching track and cross country at UE High School 

  • 2004 - Alan Jones,

    • TCRC founder, inventor of the Jones counter, Runscore software, Vestal 20 race director

  • 2005 - Ron Grotke,

    • Press and Sun Bulletin running reporter 

  • 2006 - Gary Truce,

    • Multi-time cross country and track coach of the year at Binghamton University 

  • 2007 - Suzanne Girard Eberle,

    • ME High School and Georgetown University standout and Olympic Trials qualifier 

  • 2008 - Bob Backus,

    • A long-time coach of the Delhi men's cross country and track and field teams, winner of many Region 3 and National championship awards 

  • 2009 - The 2009 Binghamton University Men's Cross Country Team,

    • American East conference champions 

  • 2010 - Dave Cody,

    • Race director extraordinaire for the City of Binghamton Parks department 

  • 2011 - Margret Betz,

    • A holder of many US single age and age group road race records 

  • 2012 - Chad Noelle,

    • Section 4 record holder in the 1600 and 3200 meter runs, later a standout runner at Oklahoma State U, Olympic Trials qualifier 

  • 2013 - C. Fred Joslyn,

    • Chenango Forks High School and Cortland State standout, 2:18 marathoner and Olympic Trials qualifier 

  • 2014 - Tom Carter,

    • 7-time winner of Vestal XX, the course record holder at Vestal XX and Forks 15, winner of Berwick Diamond Run and Utica Boilermaker 15K 

  • 2015 - Ben Snodgrass,

    • Vestal High School and Binghamton University standout, and 2015 men's TCRC Grand Prix champion 

  • 2016 - Mike Kent,

    • For his spectacular racing accomplishments in 2016. 

  • 2017 - Steve Esposito,

    • For his 2017 accomplishments.

  • 2018 - Grace Tabeek,

    • For her work as a race director, a board member, club secretary, a coach, and for all her hard work and dedication to the running community. 

  • 2019 - The Hamlin Family & The January Freeze Committee,

    • For their years of work with the TCRC Community and the planning of the Freeze 10k races.


  • 2020 - NONE due to the COVID Pandemic

  • 2021 - NONE due to the COVID Pandemic

  • 2022 - Dan Doughtery

    • For his work as a race director, and board member as well as his dedication to the club through volunteering.

  • 2023 - Bridgette Farrelly-Hess

    • For her work as a race director and her service to the running community through scholarships and volunteering.

Untitled design (1).png
bottom of page